On Writing…

Blog writing always brings out my best intentions. I read different news magazines and internet articles on a wide variety of issues in order to formulate my own opinions and thoughts. Then, I immediately think about how I can structure those ideas into a blog to post for the very few people who might actually read. I have good intentions but they don’t always translate to consistency in publishing.

I started this blog last year with hopes of regularly producing articles. 2013 hit and I look back thinking January was a mere two weeks ago. With high hopes of now posting more regularly (remember, intentions), I started last week moving some old blog articles that may still be relevant onto this blog. In doing so, I started contemplating why writing is so hard.

One of the biggest things for me has been time. When I’m working full time, enjoying marriage to the wonderful Michelle and taking care of three dogs, life can understandably become full. All of those things are good, immeasurable blessings and take priority over me spilling my guts on here. I have to be more consistent about budgeting time for writing.

Another struggle, particularly when I’m ranting and raving about various political or theological issues, is a sort of self-doubt. What new perspective or ideas can I really bring to the conversation that haven’t already been unveiled somewhere on the vast blogosphere? This one can be especially crippling. I may read some articles or a book on a given topic, be excited to write about the topic, but when I sit down at the keyboard, there is an existential struggle about making the topic sound fresh.

Finally, there is actually striving to be a somewhat decent writer. Writing can be frustrating in that regard as I try to think of the best words to use in order to communicate the idea or unusual words in order to get across a point. I don’t feel like I’m as good at this part as I could be. On some days, I mentally pummel myself for not taking more English or writing classes during my schooling season in order to hone whatever skills I have in a more effective way. In college, I got a C+ in Effective Writing by Professor Ron Raber. In spite of the grade, I did actually learn a significant amount.

The prolific author Stephen King said, “Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” Writing is hard work which is important for me to remember. A craft that is like so many others wherein a person just has to continually (and faithfully) do the task in order to get better.

The cliché tells us “the pen is mightier than the sword.” The writing of ideas is immeasurably powerful. How many philosophies developed by people taking a pen to paper or fingers to a keyboard or writing on papyrus have impacted countless lives? Ideas have made people’s lives better or antithetically, have led millions of people astray and have caused more destruction and pain in our world.

The writing of words has the potential to change the world. While being windows into the minds of other human beings, words help develop our own philosophies regarding what we think of the world and how we approach crucial ideas.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” -John 1:1-5. Jesus is called the “living Word” and thereby is Creator God. By making us in His image, we reflect that image by being creators ourselves. Out of a blank page, a devoid computer screen, something springs into existence: the word. Characters summoned from the mind of a person attempting to create meaning while mimicking a Creator who is the source of ultimate metaphysical meaning.

About dangeroushope

Striving to follow Christ, love people and learn more about the world.
This entry was posted in Personal Journal, Theological issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

